Maybe Laughter truly is the best medicine

It’s been one of those days… You know the ones:  Wake up late, forget your computer at home, meetings all day with no time for even a bathroom break.  But it’s more than that.  It’s those days when there is just something in the air.  Something saying, “watch out…it’s going to be one of THOSE days!”  Well – today was one of THOSE days and on my drive home, all I felt like doing was wallowing in my stress.  But instead, I laughed, and laughed and laughed again.  Why?

On my way to work this morning, I was listening to NPR and they had a story on Phyllis Diller.  Remember her?  The funny “old” lady we used to watch on TV when we were little?Well, she passed away last night at the ripe old age of 95.  She actually had quite a story; one which I never knew. She got into comedy out of necessity – homeless with 7 kids for nearly 4 years.  I never would have guessed it.  She was also one of the very first female comedians, blazing the way for many of the women comedians we listen to today.

But the one thing out of the entire story that I listened to that stuck with me was the fact that comedians, in general, have mostly lived to over 90 years old.  Bob Hope, George Burns, Milton Berle, and now Phyllis herself.  Makes you wonder…maybe laughter is the best medicine!

So on my way home, after a very stressful day, I turned on the comedy station and laughed my way home.  Not sure if one day of laughing will let me live to 90, but it sure did make one of THOSE days just a little better in the end!

Until next time…Namaste!

This entry was posted in Discovery, Humor, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

