Hello Blog…Oh how I’ve missed you!

Image

It’s the middle of August and the kids have been back to school for 2 weeks now.  Even after all of these years, it’s seems odd that school starts in August when it’s still over 110 degrees most days.  But that’s not what I’m here to talk about.  I’m here to talk about my “Pre-Fall Detox” program – or at least, that’s what I’m calling it.  It’s not a real detox where you starve yourself or drink juices all day long, but a clear your head, get rid of junk and bring back things you love to do detox.  So what exactly does that mean?

First, it means clearing clutter.  Lots of clutter.  Since July, the whole family has been on a mass clutter clearing mission – donating and throwing out things we no longer need.  That has been in progress for a while now, but I’ve also started clearing out my mental clutter.  Worries that I have been holding on to, guilt that I’ve been holding on to, and also some frustrations that I’ve been holding on to – all gone…*POOF*

It also means eating better. The lazy days of summer hit hard this year and I ended up throwing my healthy eating habits right out the window.  I’ve been stuck in a cooking rut and if I see one more frozen pizza or taco shell, I swear, I will scream!  So I’ve started menu planning, cooking and eating healthy again – at least most of the days.  Finally, it means letting go of things and activities I no longer enjoy doing so I can bring back the things and activities I do enjoy.  I’ve started doing yoga again, I’ve started reading again, and I’ve also bought some really fun, casual clothes that I can’t wait to wear…once our state becomes habitable again (see note above about the 110+ temps!)

So as I am going through this Detox program, I’ve realized one of the things I’ve missed the most is blogging.  I actually love to blog and I find that I don’t make enough time to do it.  I have so many posts that I’ve written but haven’t published, and so many posts that I’ve been writing in my head, but just never get around to typing it up.  So this year, as part of my pre-Fall detox, I’m going to try to make it a point to blog more.  I know, I know, I’ve said it before and I never did it, but that’s ok; it’s the intention that matters.  Plus, I can’t say I’ve had a successful detox if I don’t let go of the guilt – right?

So this is my first of hopefully a slew of “back to blogging” posts that I hope to write over the next few months.  And if for some reason, I don’t, at least you all will have a back to blogging post to look forward to next year during my pre-Spring detox program!

Until next time…Namaste!

This entry was posted in Discovery, General Ramblings, Life, Yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello Blog…Oh how I’ve missed you!

  1. Pingback: Caffeine Free and Junk Food Free, but don’t touch my wine! | From the Mouth of The Meem

Leave a Reply

