Yes, I have a plan! Sort of…

I have a plan...to live without a plan!

In real life, I’m a product manager for a software company.  That means, I’m a planner by force, not by choice.  I have a plan for the features I wish to add to my product lines, I have a plan for the release of my product, I have a plan for how to market my product…plans, plans, plans for everything.

So why is it that I don’t have a plan for my non-work life?  Maybe it’s because I’m forced to plan for 8 hours of my day, or maybe because I really don’t enjoy planning, but whatever it is right now, I don’t have a plan.  Well sort of…

I do have a general life plan with my husband.  We have planned how we want to raise our kids, we have planned our general goals for our family and we have planned what we want to do when we retire.  But what I don’t have is a plan for this year.  I don’t have a plan for next month.  I don’t even have a plan for tomorrow.  That might seem odd for a 40-something woman, but I am actually finding it quite liberating.

Without a set plan, I am less stressed.  Without a set plan, I am free to say yes to something that sounds fun.  Without a set plan, I live in the moment without worrying about what happened yesterday or what will happen tomorrow.

So if you are a planner, why don’t you try it?  Throw your plans out the door and just do what you feel like doing for a while, not what you had planned.  Actually, if you are lucky…what you had planned would be the same as what you feel like doing, but I would bet in most cases it isn’t.  So try it for a month…a day…an hour and see what it feels like. I think you will enjoy it!

So how long will I be able to continue a non-planned life?  I’m really not sure, but if I plan it right, I should be able to live “plan-free” for a VERY long time. And to me, that sounds like a perfect plan!

Until next time…Namaste!

This entry was posted in Discovery, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

