It takes a village, a community, or just a bunch of really cool people!

Once again, I am behind in my Reverb10 posts. I guess that’s ok though, because reflection really has no “deadline”…or does it? Well, in my world it doesn’t, and that is all that matters 🙂

So a few days ago, I received another Reverb10 prompt. This one read, Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

At first, I was going to skip this one all together, but as I went about my day(s) and let this one simmer for a bit, I realized that in nearly everything I did last year, and in everything we do nearly every day, we couldn’t do it without a “community.” Be it a small group of people you know, a large classroom or auditorium, or a group of people online whom you’ve never even met before! It really does take a village…a community…or a bunch of really cool people to live a rich and fulfilled life.

So looking back at my year, it started with our daughter in the hospital for dehydration which involved a community of doctors and nurses and other caring individuals. In Spring, I coordinated a charity walk for Water1st,an organization who helps provide water and sanitation projects for some of the poorest people in the world. Once again, without a large community of people helping, and attending, I never could have pulled off this event. In springtime, I also took the kids skiing for the first time. Even there, we had a community of parents and teachers who were watching over my kids during their ski lesson which allowed me to head up the mountain and experience the moment that I felt most alive this past year! Heading into summer, my husband and I took a fabulous trip to Scotland for his 40th birthday. My parents stayed with our kids at that time (of course, my family is my TRUE village), and then a few weeks later, in fall, my kids and I took a trip to Singapore and India, the latter being one place where I feel I have the biggest community of all!

Those cover the big events of the year, but also when I think about my every day life, once again, everything I did, there was a community of people to support me. From my yogi friends who reminded me how important it is to practice yoga daily, to all of the online bloggers and tweeps who have such great advice on living a minimalist life. To Facebook friends who would simply make me laugh and smile with their posts and comments. I never could have made it through the year without them!

So what community would like I to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011? Well, what I would like to do is support all of those people who have supported me this last year and make sure when they reflect on their year, they think about me as a person in their village, their community, or just a cool person to have around!

Until Next Time…Namaste!

This entry was posted in Discovery, Life, Reverb10 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

