What have you made for me lately?

For those of you who are reading/following my blog, I have a big shocking secret to reveal in this post. Yes…a dirty secret that I never thought I would reveal, but the latest Reverb10 prompt that reads, “Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?” has brought this secret to the forefront and as much as I didn’t want to, I am being forced to fess up. Are you Ready? Are you sure? Ok…here goes…my deep, dark, dirty secret that I never thought I had to reveal, but now, that I’m being forced to is…

I am a stay-at-home-mom who buys store bought cookies for school parties! GASP…I know…a real shocker, but it’s true!

When I first decided to be a stay-at-home mom, I dreamt about all of the things I could “make” for my kids and husband. I researched and bookmarked, and joined newsletters and blogs about cooking, baking, homeschooling (yes…I even considered keeping my kids home with me!), and all sorts of activities that mom’s “should” be doing. With all of this time on my hands, I could now make homemade cookies, I would make their beds every day, I would make fancy gourmet dinners every night – heck, I might even make some clothes once in a while because that is what stay-at-home moms do right? Boy…was I WRONG! It’s not that I don’t have time to do all of these things, but what it really comes down to, is that I really have no desire to do them! One thing I’ve realized over this past year, is that being at home does not mean you have to do all of these things, especially if you don’t enjoy them. You don’t have to have homemade cookies in the oven every day and a gourmet meal on the table and hand sewn clothes for the kids. Those things are great if you enjoy doing them, but I don’t, and I don’t think my kids are any worse off.

So when I think about what was the last thing I made? I made my kids smile and laugh, I made myself and my husband shut-off electronics this last weekend so we could spend time together as a family. I made time for my husband. And I made time for myself.

And personally…I think that is better than worrying about the fact that I haven’t made any homemade cookies lately!

Until Next Time…Namaste!

This entry was posted in Parenting, Reverb10 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What have you made for me lately?

  1. Chris says:

    I guess that dashes my dreams of a seeing a My Girlfriend’s Bakery in the future!

  2. Erin says:

    What you do is better than homemade cookies!
    Our district only allows store-bought treats for parties & bake sales (food poisoning, I guess!).

    • The Meem says:

      Oh Erin – you are the one person who inspires me to get in the kitchen and bake! Those xmas cookies you had baked on the weekend looked awesome and apple crisp! YUM!!!!

  3. Pallavi says:

    LOL. Love your secret. I think many of us has same secret. I tried that and realized that it is not my cup of tea and accepted part time job. 🙂

Leave a Reply

