Letting go…A Novel

After a week-full of Reverb10 prompts, I have to admit, this one has by far, been the hardest for me – the one that has stumped me the most. And no, it’s not because I have nothing to write about; it’s just the opposite, I have too much to write about and to be honest, I could probably write a novel about all of the things I have let go of this past year.

I have written and re-written this post about 100 times in the past 2 hours…Do I talk about letting go of the negative people who had crept into our lives over the past year? Do talk about letting go of negative energy that I had been holding on to for so long? Do I talk about letting go of trying to be a perfect mother, wife, sister, daughter? Do I talk about….like I said, the list goes on and on.

Letting go has truly been a theme for me throughout 2010. I have let go of negative people, negative thoughts, negative stereotypes, negative things and negative energy. I laugh when I think about it, because despite all of the positive things that happened in my life last year, I look back and I realize that a lot of it came about because I let go of the negative. I guess that’s what we have to do in order to let in the positive. And despite being a very optimistic person, looking back, I’m actually surprised about how much negativity had crept into my life and how much I had to get rid of. I guess that’s just it when you are an optimist – you don’t even realize there is negative until you really take the time to think about it and reflect.

So one final word before this post becomes the first chapter in my novel…the image that I have in this post is a print ad that I pulled out of one of my cooking magazines about two months ago. I have never been one to save an image or an ad or make a poster of what I want to manifest in my life, but for some reason, when I saw this picture, it spoke to me, I was drawn to it, and I felt I needed to pull it out and leave it next to my bed so I could see it every morning and night. When I saw this prompt, this picture was the first thing that came to my mind as this represents me at the end of this year. I know it is someone blowing out candles, probably for their birthday, but for me, it represents blowing out the candles on this year and blowing in only positive happy energy in 2011. Funny how many things in our lives weave together if we just take the time to listen.

So that’s it – my multiple-time re-written post. Probably not a great start for a novel, but it is a great way for me to let go of 2010 knowing that I have let go of the negative, and an even better way to start 2011 – filled with positive energy!

Until next time…Namaste!

This entry was posted in Life, Reverb10 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

