My Biggest Distraction

Today’s Reverb10 prompt is about Writing. The prompt reads, “What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing – and can you eliminate it?” Because I’m not a writer/blogger professionally, I am revising the prompt to fit my needs…Sorry Leo, but I promise, you are still my favorite blogger! So I started thinking about my post from yesterday and my goal to focus in 2011. So my revised prompt for today reads, “What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to what is important to you – and can you eliminate it?” There…that’s better! Now on to my ramblings…

Well, you can probably tell from the icons above what my biggest distraction is and what I do, pretty much daily, that doesn’t really contribute to what is important to me. Ok, maybe they do in a way, because Facebook, especially, allows me to keep in touch with family and friends around the globe which is very important to me. But, that being said, do I really need to check it every day…multiple times a day…sometimes multiple times an hour? That would be a big FAT NO!

Facebook and Twitter have a place in our lives. They will probably never go away, and I don’t feel like I need to eliminate them, but I what I do need to do is learn how to incorporate them into life without them being a distraction.

So going forward, I pledge not to get distracted by social media apps if right at that moment in time, it is not contributing to what is important to me. There you go…my intention sent out to the universe, in writing, which means it will be manifested.

I’m really starting to like this Reverb10 exercise. I feel like it is going to help me in ways that I can’t even imagine! Oh wait, I’ll be right back, I gotta go check Facebook real quick…

Until Next Time…Namaste!

This entry was posted in Discovery, Life, Reverb10 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Biggest Distraction

  1. this just made me smile, as I should be doing something other than reading all the wonderful Reverb10 posts that are linked through twitter. Glad it’s brought me to your site though. Namaste.

    • The Meem says:

      I was good and stayed off most of the day, but I too am addicted to all of the wonderful Reverb10 posts! Thank you for the comment and I look forward to reading your posts! Namaste!

  2. Oh yeah! Social media can be a huge distraction. But for me (I write YA fiction) it’s a great way to keep my finger on the pulse of the world and my audience… but it’s easy to overdo it!

    • The Meem says:

      Sarah – I love your year of months concept – what a FABULOUS Idea! I think I am going to have to steal…wait, borrow it if that if that is ok 🙂 I can’t wait to get started!

Leave a Reply

