Reflection

Today’s prompt from Reverb10 said, “Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word…” What a great (and ironic) way to kick off my month of Reflection because my last year was all about Reflection.  This one word truly encapsulates my entire 2010.

It takes a lot of effort for me to slow down. My husband and I always joke that once I’m done with my first cup of coffee in the morning, I am ready to “buzz” and it’s true; I often feel like a buzzing bee, constantly on the move.  But this past year has been different.  I know that’s hard for anyone to believe if you look at everything I have done over the past year, but the thing is, I realize now that I did it while taking the time to reflect.  It may look like I was buzzing around, but I did it all while standing still.

When I quit my job last year, I felt lost. I had always been a working professional with a career and a title. When someone would ask what I did, I would promptly reply, “I’m a product manager for…” It was easy, it was straightforward, and it was who I was…or at least I thought so at the time. After I quit my job, the one thing that kept weighing on my mind was how am I going to answer that dreaded question, “What do you do?” Now what was I going to say when someone asked me that question? What will people think of me when I say, “Oh, I’m just a stay-at-home-mom.”

So I didn’t say that…I didn’t do that…instead, I did other things. I did lots of things. I filled my time with activities and events so I never had to say, “I’m just at home. I’m just a mom.” But now that I’m looking back, I realize that all of those activities were my way to reflect…to realize…to consider…

The Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines reflection as, “consideration of some subject matter, idea, or purpose,” and that is what last year was about for me. I did lots of things that I’ve always wanted to try or things that I thought would make me happier than being a product manager.  But looking back, at my year, I realize that it was my way of considering my purpose in life.  My way to reflect.  I guess you can say my way to figure out what I want to be when I grow up!

It is the end of the year, and just like the bees, I’m not buzzing as much anymore.  I’ve slowed down significantly, and I’m actually taking the time for a bit more quiet reflection by participating in Reverb10.  But I’m excited to realize that really, my entire year was dedicated to reflection.  I have taken the time to try different things, to think about different things and to understand what it really means to answer the question, “What do you do?”

So my word for 2011 is Focus.  Now that I’ve spent the time to reflect and understand what is truly important to me, it is time for me to focus on those things!  It’s time to focus on the people that are most important in my life, and it’s time for me to focus on what I enjoy doing.   I’m sure I still won’t have all of the answers, but I know if I focus on what is important to me, things will fall into place.

Until next time…Namaste!

This entry was posted in Discovery, Life, Reverb10 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Reflection

  1. divamover says:

    Your post got me thinking, once again, about how our culture wants us to think of ourselves as “human doings” instead of “human beings.” !
    Reflection before, during, and after “doing something — especially in busy times — helps to refine one’s course and take more efficient and effective actions. “Is this taking me where I want to go?” No way to have an answer without reflection. Reflection and focus go hand in hand . . .
    Thanks for a lovely post!

  2. The Meem says:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed it. Funny how we can get so caught up in doing things that reflection just falls by the wayside. Glad to have found Reverb10 so I actually take the time to consciously reflect. Thank you for your comment!

  3. I think “focus” is a PERFECT follow up for “reflection.” 🙂

    I look forward to reading your posts over the next month!

  4. ChaiChatter says:

    I enjoyed reading your post on reflection and focus. You nailed it with tying the 2 words together as one must know what to focus on before for them to move forth with any set goals. That is only possible when you’ve reflected on past events and realize like you said , what is important in your life to warrant that focus. Best of luck to you and thank you for sharing about Reverb10. Looking forward to doing my own post later tonight and reading everyone else’s.

Leave a Reply

