Human Hibernation

We live in a “warm” part of the country, so I really don’t have the right to complain when it comes to winter weather.  As a matter of fact, we are one of the premiere destinations for the snowbirds, which is really the only true cause of our winter traffic issues!  But people would be surprised how cold it can get in the desert, especially after sunset, so like clock-work, every winter, I pull out flannel sheets, PJs and fuzzy slippers for myself and my family.

When I do this, I know I am about to face the inevitable.  No longer will I feel like getting up to hit the gym or go for a run; I can barely get myself to get out of the warm bed to make coffee and start the day. No longer will my kids jump out of bed when their alarms go off, it will be more like pulling teeth to get them to leave their comfy cozy beds, and we always get dreadfully close to having enough tardy slips at school to be called in to have a discussion with the school principal.  Basically, we all just feel like hibernating!

So it donned on me the other day, as I was trying to drag myself away from my warm flannel sheets, what is wrong with us?  Why don’t we as humans pay attention to the natural cycles of the seasons, the rhythm of earth?  Nature seems to have it right, why don’t we?  During winter, everything in nature slows down; the leaves fall off the trees, the animals hide away for the winter…basically, everything takes a pause.  But think about it, we humans tend to speed up during winter:  big thanksgiving dinners, Black Friday (and this year, “pre” Black Friday), Cyber Monday, holiday parties, Gift-Buying, New Years eve dress shopping…the list goes on and on and it makes me tired just thinking of it.

So this year, I have decided that we, as a family, are not going to speed up during the winter, but slow down.  That doesn’t mean that we won’t participate in the Holiday events, but we will do it at our own pace.  We will not say yes to every invite, and try to see every holiday light display on the “must see” list, and we will not get caught up in the gift-buying frenzy of the season.  Instead, we will sleep in, cuddle in our warm beds in the morning sharing stories, jokes, and a cup of hot chocolate.  We are going to take our clues from nature, and listen to our natural body rhythms that are clearly telling us to slow down, take a pause and hibernate. I like to think of it has a “human hibernation”…and yes, I am typing this as I sit in my warm flannel sheets, with a cup of hot chocolate next to me!

Until Next Time…Namaste!

This entry was posted in General Ramblings, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

