What a year!

My 42nd birthday is fast approaching and this year, I am taking some time to look back at the year and reflect on what I have done.  I saw on another blog that someone did this by basically doing a “twitter” type of update – going through the year in short update messages so here goes:

October 2009 – After 17 years of working full-time, I finally quit my job to be a Stay-at-home mom

November 2009 – Took a trip to India with my kids after 10 years.  Had a great time catching up with family and showing the girls their “home” country!

December 2009 – Older daughter ended up in the hospital for extreme dehydration.  This incident prompted me to find a great organization (Water1st.org) who helps support water and sanitation projects in some of the poorest communities around the world. (Please see the link to the Water Blog for more information about Water1st).

January 2010 – Started planning/organizing charity walk called Carry 5 walk for Water. A fundraising event for Water1st.

February 2010 – Took the kids skiing for the first time. They LOVED it, and I was thrilled! So happy to be back on the slopes!

April 2010 – Held the Carry 5 Walk for Water event and exceeded the fundraising goals that we had set for the event!

May 2010 – Started a consulting business.

July 2010 – Headed up to the Northwest to see my family. Took a few side trips while we were there and spent lots of fun quality time with my family.

August 2010 – Started my blog!

Sept 2010 – Took a trip to Scotland for my Hubby’s 40th Birthday!

Oct 2010 – Took a trip to Singapore to see a dear, old friend from my youth, and also a side trip to India to visit my cousins who I haven’t seen in years.

So that was my year in a nutshell…what a year! If anyone tells you that it sucks to be 40, I’m here to tell you that they are wrong. I think I have finally hit my stride in my 40’s, and I am looking forward to what my 42nd year will look like.

Until next time…Namaste!

This entry was posted in Discovery, General Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What a year!

  1. Vern says:

    I’m sorry, but you’re quite mistaken; you said 42.

    I didn’t think the 2 and 4 keys were close enough together to mistakenly type a 4 in place of a 2, but you seem to have.

    Because you’re not 42.

    And your husband is a very lucky man to have such a beautiful 22 year old wife.

    BTW: that sounds like an amazing year. 🙂

  2. The Meem says:

    Vern…you are too kind – thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

