Ignorant People Are Our Biggest Threat

“There is nothing more frightful than ignorance in action.”  This is the quote that came to mind as I sat in a local sports bar this afternoon drinking a beer, watching the news flash on CNN talking about a church in Florida who is planning on burning the Quran on the anniversary of 9/11.  Since the volume on the TV was turned down, I decided to hold my opinion until I could come home and hear their side of the story, so I went online and here is what I found, “The Dove World Outreach Center in Gainesville, Florida, plans to mark the anniversary of al Qaeda’s September 11, 2001, attacks on New York and Washington by burning copies of the Muslim holy book. The church insists the event is “neither an act of love nor of hate,” but a warning against what it calls the threats posed by Islam.” 

Once I read this, my mindset changed and all I could think was, “stupid, ignorant people.”  Islam is NOT a threat.  Muslims are NOT a threat.  Stupid, ignorant people are a threat.

I am a brown skinned woman, and on Sept. 12, 2001, I was stopped in the middle of my local mall and asked by a woman, “Are you a MUSLIM?  Are you one of THEM!?!”  I was taken aback, and quite honestly hurt by her question, but I could completely understand why she would be upset.  I, like all other American’s were shocked, angry, hurt and saddened by the events of Sept. 11th.  The actions of the terrorists have completely changed the world as we know it.  I don’t think there is a person in this world who can say the terror attacks on the World Trade Center has not affected them in some way.  But you would think after 9 years, the amount of ignorance out there about Muslims and Islam would have lessened, at least a little bit, but then you hear about people like Terry Jones and you realize how much ignorance is still out there in the world.

I guess, you could say that I am ignorant to think things have changed, but at least I’m not stupid.

Until Next Time…Namaste!

This entry was posted in General Ramblings, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ignorant People Are Our Biggest Threat

  1. Vern says:

    The problem is, people like Terry, and very likely the woman who stopped you, don’t WANT the world to move on. They’re much happier with us hating all Muslims, hating all brown people, hating all those that aren’t “Murkins!!”, because it’s easier for them to express their hatred and ignorance, when it’s shared by everyone else.

    Many Americans fear the sort of “islamization” that Europe is encountering, albeit to a lesser degree than many would report or suspect. But that fear, and the overreaching backlash against the nearly non-existent islamization, is going to inevitably CAUSE the islamization. The angry actions taken to prevent something that isn’t actually taking place will so thoroughly polarize so many, that which we fought to prevent, will come to fruition, and be unstoppable.

    I consider myself to be a very tolerant person.

    Ignorance is something I do not, and will not ever, tolerate.

    And I am trying to teach my children to never tolerate it, either.

    We should not give any quarter to those who push ideals based on ignorance, in our schools, in our government, in our churches, in our lives.

    But too many people would rather be sheep.

  2. Erin says:

    On 9/11/2001, I didn’t send my kids to school. At that time, Omid was the only Iranian in our small town and our kids were the only brown-skinned kids at their elementary school. I was so scared that they would be targeted at school. Thankfully, the principal of their school called and assured us that my kids would be safe and there would be no tolerance for bullying/taunting. It was fine in elementary school, but unfortunately, my kids have felt the sting of ignorant/stupid people & their ugly comments at the MS & HS and Omid has felt it at work too. As a Christian myself, I am very angry at the pastor of the Dove Outreach Center. He is doing so much damage & certainly doesn’t speak for us all.

Leave a Reply

