A new career title

I realized the other day that I have a career title that I have never acknowledged.  No, it’s not stay-at-home mom, PTA mom or Supermom (although I wouldn’t mind that last one!)  It is…drum roll please…Short-Order cook! 

Now, I’m not quite sure when I actually got this job, but I do know, when I first became a mother, I had all of the greatest intentions in the world to make sure my kids weren’t picky eaters.  I imagined that they would eat everything I cooked, and we would all sit down together at the dinner table every night and eat a proper meal together.  Well unfortunately, what is happening in our household is nowhere NEAR this pre-motherhood vision…nope, not even close!

Our “family dinner” goes something like this:  kids are sitting at the kitchen counter and both of them are trying to tell me things at the same time, I’m running around like a mad-woman trying to wash vegetables, prep the meat, referee the fight that is ensuing between the kids, answer emails on my blackberry, answer the home phone which keeps ringing, AND try to remember all of the things that I am realizing we are out of as I try to make dinner.

Then, it starts…,”I don’t want chicken, I wanted pasta,” “I want pasta, but I only want penne, I don’t want spaghetti,” “I don’t want pasta if she’s having pasta, I want cheese pizza!” “I had cheese pizza for lunch – can I just have cereal?!?”  And in the meantime, I am racing around the kitchen trying to cater to all of the different (and every-changing) orders that are being thrown at me from the other side of the kitchen counter!  By the time it’s all over, I don’t know how many different variations of meals I have made, and the kitchen is a complete disaster area.

Now, I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately and what I have realized is that its my own fault that I have gotten this career title.   My mother never catered to everyone’s individual tastes; we never had “choices” given to us at dinner time; as a matter of fact, if we ever complained about what was for dinner, we were told, “This is what’s made, if you don’t want it, you don’t have to eat.”  And that was that!  So it seems odd that I have turned into a mother who acts like a short-order cook.

So, long story short, I’ve decided it’s time for a change!  I hereby resign my position of short-order cook.  In doing so, I vow to make ONE…yes, ONE really good meal for the whole family, I vow that we will sit down at the dinner table and eat together and I vow NOT to cave in to the kids pleading of, “I don’t like this, can’t I just have cereal?”  So tonight, it’s Taco tonight, and if they don’t like it, I guess I will be blogging about cranky kids in my next post!

Oh, and as far as another new career title, you can just call me Supermom!

Until next time…Namaste!

This entry was posted in General Ramblings, Life, Motherhood, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A new career title

  1. Vern says:

    This is something I struggle with, with my girls.

    Not because I give them choices, but because my ex does. She will make two or three different items in a single night for them.

    I make one thing, and that’s it. They learned a long time ago that when I say dinner is ready, whatever is ready is dinner.

    Mostly because I saw what my step-mother went through, and was determined to not allow my children to become what my step-siblings are still to this day.

  2. Erin says:

    Great post! I also used to be a short-order cook. My sister gave me a plaque for my kitchen that says: Dinner: Eat it or leave it. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Caffeine Free, Junk Food Free, but don’t touch my wine! | From the Mouth of The Meem

Leave a Reply

