What not to wear!

Sometimes, I think the producers at TLC came up with this show for me. No, I’ve never been on it, and for God’s sake, hope I never will be, but anytime I happen to come across this show as I am channel surfing, I take one look at the women who are on it and think, “Hey – she dresses like me!”

I’ve always hated clothes shopping and if you have seen any pictures of me from my earlier days, you can tell that I really didn’t care about clothes. Ok…I admit…even to this day, I still really don’t care. If it were up to me, I would live in a pair of sweats or jeans, old race t-shirts and flip-flops! But up until now, I’ve somehow managed to make it through (confession: I often just relied on my mom’s gifts of clothing every few months so I didn’t have to buy my own clothes…yes, she is quite the trendy dresser and shopper!)

So the other day, when my husband said something about the shorts I was wearing…well, the ONE pair of shorts I have been wearing ALL summer…I decided it was time for a change. I think it goes back to the whole paying attention and being present post from yesterday. I’m sure…no, I KNOW that my husband has never really, shall we say “admired” my clothes. As a matter of fact, I think he has always been happy that my mom used to send me some trendy stuff as he knows how much I hate clothes shopping! So back to the other day…normally I would have heard the comment and gone on my merry way. But this time, it was different. This time, I actually listened and heard it. This time…it was time for a change!

It’s kind of amazing how things come together when you set your intentions on something. Yes, i know it sounds really shallow, but after that day, I set my intentions on dressing better, and I am amazed at what happened…The Rachel Zoe project…that is what happened!

I was watching my favorite show on Bravo – Top Chef – and a commercial for the Rachel Zoe Project came on. Boom…just like that…the answers to my fashion dilemmas! So I set my DVR and recorded all of the shows that are out so far this season. After watching them, I realized that it’s not exactly all the answers that I need, but watching this crazy, stressed out anorexic woman and her fabulous gay assistant Brad outfit a bunch of models and stars was absolutely inspiring for me.

The fashion trends that they were talking about, and the things that they were looking for…it all made sense! For the first time in my life, I was inspired to get to the mall and check out the new fashions, which is exactly what I did, and I am excited to announce that I am a proud owner of a new utility jacket, a faux fur vest, leggings, and two new pairs of jeans (never seen Rachel wear jeans, but me, I live for them!)

So that’s it…my thoughts for today. I will likely never be labeled a “fashionista”, but I’m hoping I have at least saved myself from ending up on What Not to Wear! And those shorts that I’ve been wearing all summer…they haven’t come out of the closet in two weeks! Let’s see if my hubby notices. If he says something, I will definitely be present for that one!

Until next time…Namaste!

This entry was posted in Discovery, General Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

