Be present…

that was the ending message from our yoga instructor this morning as we finished our practice. Actually, he started out by saying, “my lesson for today is from a fortune cookie I read last night.” Made me giggle as I sat there in my corpse pose thinking “oh great – it will probably be something like wise men always wear yellow or something dumb like that.” But as I lay there and he continued with his message, I found myself crying. Why? Because his message was exactly what I needed today.

“Be Present in the moment, because if you are always thinking about yesterday, or worrying about tomorrow, you will miss what is happening right now around you. And what you miss may be the best moments of your life.”

For the past week, I have been spinning in a million directions. The contract work I’ve been doing has increased, I am planning a few upcoming trips, my parents are coming in to town next week, the kids have had a ton of homework and I could go on and on but I won’t as I know everyone always has a million things going – right? I decided a year ago that the most important thing in my life is my family, and this past week I have found myself kicking myself at the end of the day because I am back to my old habits of telling my kids, “Hold on – I just need to do this” or telling my husband, “I can’t right now, I have to get this done” when really, I should be focused on what they are trying to say and what they want to show me, rather than stressing about what needs to be done by next week.

So, in the end, as my yoga teacher always says, “Let go of the negative and accept who you are right now” which is what I’m doing. I’m gald I have recognized that I’m falling into my own habits, and I’m glad I am quickly able to correct the situation. Today, when I pick the kids up from school, I will focus on them and not worry about what is happening tomorrow. I will just BE PRESENT!

And I don’t know about you, but I’m wondering how the heck they were able to fit that whole message on a fortune cookie!

Until Next Time…Namaste!

This entry was posted in Discovery, General Ramblings, Parenting, Yoga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

